

25 July 2020

Guy Barnett, Minister for Primary Industries and Water

## Place Names Advisory Panel members appointed

The Tasmanian Government is pleased to announce the members of the new Place Names Advisory Panel.

The Panel replaced the Nomenclature Board when the *Place Names Act 2020* came into effect on I July 2020 and is responsible for assessing Tasmanian place naming proposals.

The Panel comprises the Surveyor-General as Chair, a Tasmanian State Service employee with primary responsibility for the state's spatial data and mapping, a Parks and Wildlife Service representative, a person nominated by the Local Government Association of Tasmania, one person with knowledge and experience in outdoor recreation and up to two people with knowledge and experience in heritage or historic matters, orthography or linguistics.

The Panel members are:

- Michael Giudici
- Julian Gill
- Kathryn Clark
- Michael Edrich
- Dr Andrew Davey
- Prue Slatyer
- Dr Tim Jetson

The appointment of the Panel members is for three years.

An Aboriginal and Dual Naming Reference Group of experts in Aboriginal languages has also been established to provide advice to the Panel on Aboriginal naming proposals.

For more information on place naming in Tasmania visit <u>www.dpipwe.tas.gov.au/place-names</u>