

4 November 2022

Guy Barnett, Minister for Veteran's Affairs

## 2022 Frank MacDonald Memorial Prize winners announced

The Frank MacDonald Memorial Prize is named in honour of Tasmania's last surviving World War 1 veteran and plays a vital role in ensuring our young remember the stories of our veterans.

Open to all Year 9 students in Tasmania, The Frank MacDonald Memorial Prize is an essay-based competition to help promote and preserve the meaning of the ANZAC spirit in the Tasmanian community.

Thousands of Tasmanian students have entered the competition over the years and have discovered more about Tasmania's military history and the spirit of those who left our shores for the war effort to protect those they were leaving behind.

The Frank MacDonald Memorial Prize is a study tour for approximately 14 days and comprises six students, two teachers, a parliamentary representative, a member of RSL Tasmania and a Tasmanian Government Tour Leader.

Congratulations to the six winners of the Frank MacDonald Memorial Prize for 2022 as they embark on the journey of a lifetime. The winners are:

- Amy Willey, Tasman District School
- Harry Lillywhite, Scotch Oakburn College

- Jacob Rittman, Penguin District School
- Jacob Watt, Bayview Secondary College
- Sarah Brewer, Ulverstone Secondary College
- Xander Power, Marist Regional College

Prize winners will take part in a study tour that will travel in 2023 to visit sites and landmarks related to Australia's military history.

Students also undertake research into individual soldiers as part of the preparation for the Study Tour. The research helps commemorate and preserve the meaning of the Anzac spirit in the Tasmanian community.

In addition to the six winners, congratulations to all those students who entered this year's competition – I'm sure researching for your essay has given you an enhanced appreciation of Tasmania's military history and those who fought for your freedoms.